Holy Moly Shepherd’s Pie

All Winter I wanted to take my first attempt at a Shepherds Pie. I never got around to it until now (yes, I know it is Spring now), and I am glad that I did! After work today I was rushing around like a mad woman getting my errands done. I would usually have gotten those done on the weekend but I was in New York visiting friends and celebrating birthdays and just having too much fun to think about my adult things. Today I got out of work at a decent time and I was able to do laundry, go grocery shopping, clean, work out, and make my huge Shepherd’s Pie. And I still have time to write this blog post and relax a bit! Oof! I love feeling productive on a Monday, it really makes me feel good about the week ahead.

With this being my first attempt at this dish, the only thing that I would have changed was I would have put some Worcestershire sauce in with either my potatoes or my ground turkey and vegetable mixture. It just lacked a bit of flavor that I think the Worcestershire sauce would have cured. In the end, this is true comfort food at it’s finest and this was exactly what I needed to make after a really tough week. What is your favorite comfort food?

Shepherd’s Pie
Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes

2 russet potatoes
1 pound of ground turkey
1 white onion
1 bag of frozen peas and carrots (I used a mixture that also had green beans, corn, and lima beans in it. What ever your preference is, use it!)
1 1/2 cup of chicken stock
2 tbsp of butter
1/4 cup of light sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp of dried rosemary

Preheat the oven to 400º

While the oven is preheating prepare the pie! Start by cutting your potatoes and throwing them in to a pot of boiling water. Cook your potatoes until soft. Drain the water and mash your potatoes in a bowl with 1 tbsp of butter, your sour cream, dried rosemary, salt and pepper. Set aside.

Heat the remaining tbsp of butter in a large skillet. Put in onions until translucent. Add in your frozen veggies and cook until tender. Add in chicken stock and your ground turkey. Cook until your turkey meat is browned.

In a large 13″x9″ glass dish spoon in your turkey and vegetable mixture and then top with your mashed potatoes. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes and then enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Holy Moly Shepherd’s Pie

  1. This looks so yummy! I could eat a huge bowl of mashed potatoes right now. I appreciate that you left the skins on your potatoes btw, I never understood why people peel them.

Leave a Reply

