Tomato Sauce Poached Eggs

Poached eggs are a very tricky dish to make. The only person I personally know who can poach the best eggs is, of course, my father. If I’m not in a restaurant, at my parents house is the only place I can get an amazing poached egg with the perfect drippy yolk.

When I saw this recipe on Shoplifting in a Ghost Town I lost it. Finally! A way that even I, the worst egg poacher, can make my favorite egg! As Chloe states in her post, tomato sauce is much more forgiving then the classic water and vinegar cooking method. I took the idea here and ran with it creating my own dish that I was so happy with and that I ate in the matter of seconds, seriously. This is one of my most favorite things I have ever made!

Tomato Sauce Poached Eggs
Prep time: An hour (mostly due to the rice cooking time)
Cook time: An hour (again, due to the rice)

1 cup of rice
2 eggs
1 15 oz can of diced tomatoe
1 15 oz can of plain tomato sauce
4 cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon of dried oregano
1 tablespoon of dried basil
Salt and pepper to taste

Whatever kind of rice you use, cook it to your preference and with your method. I (almost always) use brown basmati rice which takes 40 minutes to cook. While your rice is cooking make your tomato sauce. Over a medium low heat, put in your minced garlic and cook a bit. When this is good add in your diced tomatoes, plain tomato sauce, oregano, basil, and salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and then bring to a low heat to simmer until you are ready to cook your eggs. When you are ready to put your eggs in bring your sauce back up to a medium heat and crack your eggs in to the sauce. Cover and let stand for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, take off the heat, uncover and let your eggs and sauce stand for 3 minutes. Over your rice spoon out your eggs with a ladle and then cover in your sauce. Sprinkle with some more salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

One response to “Tomato Sauce Poached Eggs

  1. ooooh this sounds good!!

Leave a Reply

