Burns and Birthdays

This Friday a group of friends and I got together to celebrate Robert Burns, the Scottish poet. My good friend, Lauren, first celebrated the poet while she was visiting Scotland and this celebration was all her creation. When celebrating Burns, you eat haggis. Haggis is traditionally sheeps heart, liver, and lungs minced and cooked with onions, oatmeal, and spices and then cooked in the sheeps stomach.


(Haggis in the making! Photo courtesy: Lauren)

The haggis was complete with mashed potatoes and mashed turnips. The haggis was, interesting. I will say that every person in the room gave it a chance . Mixed with the potatoes, it wasn’t too shabby! I was pretty nervous at first but next time a Burns celebration rolls around I will gladly accept! We sat around and ate haggis, listened to Scottish Folk records, and drank whiskey (another Scottish tradition, and a very good one at that).


(The uncooked haggis. Photo courtesy: Lauren)

Today was my dad’s 53rd birthday today (Happy Birthday Dad!) so it was a full house, just the way I like it.


(Rachel, my sister, made this amazing GLUTEN FREE peanut butter and chocolate cake. It was amazing! Everyone enjoyed it so much that we started picking at the frosting before we served the cake. Go check out her Flickr to see what other delicious sweets she bakes!)

Having a full house means having a full kitchen. Everyone in my family is very very particular about what they do in the kitchen. My mom and sister are more on the baking side, and my dad and I are more the cooks. So while my sister and my mom are baking, my dad and I are more or less just staring and trying to figure out what is going on, and why there are so many dishes in the sink. The baking in attempt today, macaroon round number 2!

We were very nervous about the macaroons, but this time we followed Martha’s recipe to a T. We popped them in the oven for 5 minutes, rotated them, put them in for another 5 minutes and…

SUCCESS! These little babies were so perfect,airy, and delicious. This time around they were gluten free as well which made me the happiest camper in the room. All these tasty treats surrounding me and I could devour them all! Whoopie!

Weekends like this really make me appreciate the friends and family that I have. I love them all so much and I love that they all love food and celebrating as much as I do.

To leave off on a readers note, have you ever celebrated Robert Burns? And if not, would you consider celebrating and making haggis?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Personal Life, Photos, Recipes

2 responses to “Burns and Birthdays

  1. First off, thanks for the comment earlier today! Secondly, I am so impressed that you made your own haggis and then ate it. I’ve had it before, and would probably try it again, but it’s definitely not one of the top things I’ll ever eat. 🙂

    I like your blog a lot! Stay warm up in CT!

    • Thank you! However, I have to give my friends Lauren and Bill all the credit on actually making the haggis. I was merely a willing guinea pig! The making of it was such an interesting process, I (surprisingly) can’t wait to try it out again.

Leave a Reply

