Spicy Shrimp Soup

I am currently on a huge seafood kick. Shrimp, tuna, crab, give me it all! I went out and bought a large bag of frozen shrimp and have been trying to find different ways to use it. I already used it in a stir fry, nice and easy. The next time I used the shrimp, I boiled up a batch and threw it in to salads for lunch during the week. This time I wanted to try a nice spicy soup.

My soup creations are always very quick, easy, and usually only use one pot. Since for this recipe I used shrimp that I had previously cooked, this soup was ready in less then 20 minutes.

Spicy Shrimp Soup

1/2 pound of cooked shrimp
2 oz of rice noodles
20 oz of chicken stock
2 cups of water
Salt
Cayenne pepper
1 tbsp sriracha (You can limit this to your preference, I like a good kick to my soups)
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp fish sauce
3 green onions
3 large carrots
1 bunch of broccoli

In a large pot, put in chicken stock, water, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, soy sauce, fish sauce, green onions, carrots, and broccoli. Bring to a boil. When boiling, throw in your rice noodles and your shrimp. Since the shrimp is pre cooked and the rice noodles are quick to cook, this will only need to sit for about 10 minutes.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

6 responses to “Spicy Shrimp Soup

  1. Your photo looks amazing, lady!

  2. YUM! This looks so delicious.

  3. Agreed, the picture is lovely. And the recipe sounds delicious. Clear broth, Asian inspired soups have enticed me for a while…I think your post gives me that little push over the edge to try my hand at them!

    • Thank you! Do try them, they are perfect. I have never been one for heavy, creamy soups so most of the soups I make have a clear broth and this one was just perfect for it. I hope you do try it and you let me know how you like it.

Leave a Reply

