Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili

 

After my first sitting of my root canal Tuesday morning, I didn’t want to have anything to do with hard crunchy food, or even the cooking of the food. My favorite investment has always been my crock pot. I throw so much in there that it is usually about to over flow. Really, just ask Elliot. I love the way my crock pot makes the house smell, and I really love how it cooks everything so perfectly. This recipe was very easy, and the only cooking that was necessary was the cooking of the ground turkey meat. It has a great kick and is perfect for those cold nights in.

Sweet Potato and Turkey Chili

1 pound of cooked ground turkey
2 small sweet potatoes
2 14.5 oz cans of kidney beans
2 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies (I get mine at Trader Joes. If you don’t have these buy a can of chopped green chilies separately)
1 bag of frozen corn
2 tbsp of chili powder (palm full)
2 tbsp of cumin
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp of cayenne pepper
2 cups of organic chicken stock

Cook your ground turkey in a skillet. Cook until browned, and drain the fat from the pan.

Put all of your ingredients in your crock pot. Add in the ground turkey meat. I cooked mine on a high heat for 4 hours.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

Leave a Reply

