Chicken and Rice Soup for the Soul

We had or first snow fall of the year this week! While it wasn’t much, it still really put me in the winter spirit. It’s time for beef, soups, hot chocolate, acorn squash, chilies, and all of those heavy foods you can’t indulge in over the summer. There is no better feeling then standing over a pot of boiling chicken stock with a few bay leaves in it. The smell, the warmth, it just feels so perfect for this time of the year!

The second I knew that there would be snow falling I decided I wanted to make a classic soup that I will always enjoy. I made the biggest pot of Chicken and Rice soup and believe it or not but it is almost gone already. Not only do I love, but Elliot loves it too ( minus the scallions ).

Chicken and Rice Soup

1 pound of cooked chicken breasts
2 cups of cooked rice
32 oz of organic chicken stock
2 cups of water
2 bay leaves
1 tablespoon of rosemary
Salt and pepper to taste
2 parsnips, chopped
3 carrots, chopped
2 scallions, diced
3 celery stalks, halved and chopped

In a large pot or dutch oven, combine you chicken stock, water, bay leaves, rosemary, salt, pepper, parsnips, carrots, scallions, and celery and simmer over a medium low heat.

While this is cooking start your rice, I used brown basmati rice but you can use white rice, minute rice, or whatever you have on hand. Cook your rice and put to the side.

Next you want to cook your chicken, I use chicken breasts and simply boil them in a pot of water for 20 to 30 minutes. I like to boil my chicken because i can shred it by hand afterwards and have large chunks in my soup.

When your chicken and rice are cooked and your vegetables in your soup are starting to get mushy and cooked, add in the rice and chicken. Bring up to a medium-high heat and let boil for about 10 minutes. Bring off the heat and eat! Preferably wrapped in a large blanket camped in front of a fire.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

One response to “Chicken and Rice Soup for the Soul

  1. This sounds so fantastic, I think I’m going to have to try making it this week. It’s perfect because I’m not feeling too great and I think I need some warm soup to cure me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

