Sweet Potato Latkes

Keeping with the holiday, I got home early from work today and was excited to see that I had a few sweet potatoes floating around in the kitchen. I made a very non traditional latke with my sweet potatoes and gave myself a side of my favorite vegetable stir fry, my brussels sprouts!

The sweet potato latkes took me about 20 minutes to make in total. I love quick, simple, amazing tasting food. With the cinnamon and the sugar in the latkes it gave them a sweet but not too sweet undertone. If I had some applesauce to dollop on top, the meal would have been perfect!

Sweet Potato Latkes

2 large sweet potatoes, grated (I used a cheese grater)
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup gluten free flour
1 tablespoon of brown sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 tablespoon nutmeg
Oliveoil
Salt and pepper to taste

Start by grating your sweet potatoes. Once you are finished with that mix in a bowl with the eggs, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper.

Heat a large saucepan on medium heat with about 1/4″ of oil in the bottom. When the oil is hot enough spoon 4 large dollops of the mixture in to the oil. It will start to fry, and smell amazing! Once it is done on one side, about 3-4 minutes, flip and do the same on the other. Once the latkes are done in the pan, place them on a plate with a paper towel to soak up the oil.

Serve with sour cream or applesauce.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

One response to “Sweet Potato Latkes

  1. perfect for the first night of chanuks!!!

Leave a Reply

