Spicy Beef & Noodle Soup

All through college, and for the past year and a half, I had these old hand me down pots and pans that my parents had given to me when I moved out. Through college I rarely used them and it got to the point where they just became clutter.
Since I started cooking more then once a month (and not ramen noodles), I still had these hand me downs that weren’t helping my situation very much. To learn how to cook I wanted to have things that I wanted to actually use. Here is when my lovely boyfriend, Elliot, stepped in and got me an entire pot and pan set for my birthday! Honestly, who is better then him. It was so thoughtful, and has been one of my most used presents from anybody to this day. Since his parents also knew what he was getting me, they stuck with the theme and got me some amazing things too. One of them being a cookbook of all soups and simply named 100 Best Fresh Soups. And what better time of the year then fall to receive it!
Tonight I tried out a recipe that I had Elliot pick, and he chose a keeper! Definitely on the Top 10 list of best things I’ve made (YET). I made changes to the original recipe to make it gluten free and to kick up area’s and tastes that I like to kick up, such as garlic and ginger.

Spicy Beef & Noodle Soup


This soup was the perfect mix of hearty yet spicy and it really brought a handful of flavors to the table without having a lot of ingredients or without having to put a lot of time in to it. Ginger is definitely one of my favorite flavors. Whenever I get sushi the first this I go for is the pile of ginger on the side of the plate. The smell is amazing, and when you are cooking this soup, the smell will just fill the air.

Ingredients
4 cups of beef stock
1 1/2 pounds of beef tenderlion, cut into chunks
2 shallots, sliced thin
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 1/2 inch of fresh ginger root, sliced thinly
2 tbsp Thai green curry paste
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp fish sauce
3 oz of rice noodles

Bring the 4 cups of beef stock to a boil in a large pot or dutch oven.
While that is boiling, cook your beef in a large skillet, or wok. When beef is done to your liking, drain the fat out and put the beef off to the the side on a plate with paper towels to soak up some of the excess fat.
In the same wok, put the ginger, shallots, and garlic in a stir for about 2-3 minutes until the garlic browns and you can smell the ginger. Add in the beef, and the green curry paste. Stir for another 5 minutes.
Take the beef mixture and pour it in to the boiling pot of beef stock. Add in the soy sauce and the fish sauce. Stir for 2 minutes. Then add in the rice noodles and stir for another 5 minutes.

Click to see a step by step in pictures


Bring the 4 cups of beef stock to a boil in a large pot or dutch oven


While that is boiling, cook your beef in a large skillet, or wok. When beef is done to your liking, drain the fat out and put the beef off to the the side on a plate with paper towels to soak up some of the excess fat.


In the same wok, put the ginger, shallots, and garlic in a stir for about 2-3 minutes until the garlic browns and you can smell the ginger.


Add in the beef, and the green curry paste. Stir for another 5 minutes.



Take the beef mixture and pour it in to the boiling pot of beef stock. Add in the soy sauce and the fish sauce. Stir for 2 minutes. Then add in the rice noodles and stir for another 5 minutes.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free, Recipes

One response to “Spicy Beef & Noodle Soup

  1. Marcee

    This looks so good and the step by step directions are so helpful! I think I might have to try this one!

Leave a Reply

