Red bean chili

The time between fall and winter this year in New England was short, and far too sweet. Fall is my favorite season for many reasons. The leaves changing colors, my birthday, Halloween, and of course fall flavors like pumpkin and caramel. I’m also a huge fan of warm, hearty comfort food. Which I tend to enjoy more then I’d like to admit when this time of year comes around. Hands down, my favorite comfort food is chili.

This recipe is so simple and only took me about 30 minutes to whip up. This was one of the huge meals that I make to last me a week. And this helping did! Of course, I am only one person, so double it if you need to! This is also gluten-free! (Like most of recipes will be)

Red Bean Chili
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 to 1.5 pounds of ground turkey or beef
6 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup of organic chicken broth
1/4 cup of chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 14oz can of diced tomatoes (I use Muir Glen)
1 4oz can of green chilies
2 15oz cans of kidney beans
1 bag of frozen corn
Salt and pepper to taste

Bring a large dutch oven, or saucepan to medium heat. Add the beef or turkey and cook until browned. Add the garlic and stir. Slowly stir in the broth. Stir in the chili powder, cumin, tomatoes, and green chilies. Bring your heat down to a medium-low, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the beans, frozen corn, salt, and pepper, stir well, and simmer uncovered for 10 more minutes. Add your topping of choice: cheese, sour cream, guacamole, whatever fits your fancy! I topped mine with fontina cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Red bean chili

  1. I think chili is my favorite food to eat right now to! I made a batch last tuesday and have been eating it for lunch every day 🙂

Leave a Reply

