Gluten not for me

To put it simply and to give you the gist of this post, I love food.

Everything I eat I like to have a little bit of a love affair with it. In the past three months, my love affair has been very hard for me to maintain and it almost broke my relationship with food apart. The story went a little bit like this:

I was having multiple stomach issues for about two months before I set out to find out what was going on. I was losing weight at a rapid pace, I constantly felt sick and bloated, I didn’t even want to look at food. Not even look at it! Stomach issues tend to run in my family, wether it be just a nervous stomach or colitis, so I instantly thought about what I might have. I had a few procedures done and nothing showed up. I came to the conclusion, on my own, that I could possibly have a gluten intolerance.

Along with being lactose intolerant already, I am also anemic. This makes it very difficult for me to balance out what I need to eat on a day to day basis because I am always very tired and often feel weak. Yes, I could take vitamins, and I do take a Womens Daily every day, but other then that most pills make my stomach turn no matter how or when I take them.

Maybe I do have a gluten intolerance, or maybe I don’t, but this decision is to better myself and I feel a million times better since I have cut gluten out of my diet. I am far more rested (there are days where I don’t even need my caffeine fix in the morning!), my skin has cleared up, my stomach issues have faded, and I feel all around healthier and I feel that I make better food choices.

So with cutting gluten out of my diet, I had to make a handful of changes. Food shopping, cooking, baking, snacking, eating out with friends, I had to analyze everything I ate. It is amazing how many restaurants and grocery stores carry and offer gluten free options. It makes it very easy when I am grocery shopping and trying to eat out. Most restaurants are very accepting of changing their usual orders to be gluten free.

But my biggest thing is cooking. I work, a lot. And I work far from my house. I was used to going out and grabbing a sandwich, or ordering in on late nights in the office, but now I plan my meals. I eat breakfast, lunch, and 3 out of 5 days I even eat dinner in the office. Planning my meals the night before saves me time in the morning, but also assures me so that I won’t be running on empty half way through the day. Once a week I will cook up a large batch of food for my lunch so that I only have to spend one long night over the stove. If I get bored of that, I will usually whip up some quinoa so that I can mix it with whatever I like. T snack I’ll easily grab carrots, almonds, or fruit.

Cutting gluten out of my diet has been a process, but it has been a great one. Every one around me is very understanding and keeps in check as to what they are about to offer me, because they know I can’t turn down food. Cutting gluten out doesn’t mean that I have to sacrifice anything out of my daily diet, or that I have to stick to fruits and veggies. Becoming gluten free has broadened my eating habits and has pushed me to cook and learn more about food.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Gluten free

Leave a Reply

